Battle of the Bulge, Part 4

25 09 2009

By Sheila

Sabotage, thy name is candy.
 
Oh, if I weren’t such a devoted blogger, determined to stick to a truth-telling regimen in my weight loss journey, I would never post this column. It’s hard to admit when you’ve failed, but that is something I’ve become well acquainted with this week, and part of my healing process is being truthful when that’s happened.
 
You see this bowl?

Candybowl
 
It used to be full. Guess who helped get it down to its current levels?
 
Life has been stressful recently, and with that in clear view and within a few feet of me, I haven’t been able to resist chocolate’s siren call.
 
“Shhhhhhhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeilaaaaaaaaaa…. Come and eaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat me!”

Half the time I don’t taste it, I just know it feels good and helps take my mind off my dilemmas. I hate it, but it’s happening, and nothing can help me from sabotaging my own success.
 
Speaking of sabotage, there are different forms of it … there’s the kind we do to ourselves, as we try convincing ourselves that it’s ok to eat that one extra helping, or that one more scoop won’t hurt anyone. There’s also the sabotage other’s do to us. .. you know… that envious look in people’s eyes, the jealous tone to their congratulations they give you when you’ve lost some weight that makes you want to say ok to that second or third serving of what you know you shouldn’t have in the first place. 

And now, I’m asking because I really want to  know … how do you prevent yourself from committing and/or falling prey sabotage?

Battle of the Bulge, Part 1

Battle of the Bulge, Part 2

Battle of the Bulge, Part 3

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2009
Cindy G.

First thing, you can’t look at this as failure. View this as learning why you eat. You are an emotional eater like me, and bowls of candy in your home is a no-no. When you are stressed, that bowl is an easy vice to turn to. Get rid of the bowls of candy. That in itself will help you. It’s all baby steps. But those baby steps can build to better eating later. Believe me, I know.

25 09 2009
Justine

Agree with Cindy 100%! Failure-proof your environment; get rid of the candy and anything else that is a trigger food for you. And keep a record of your slip-ups so that soon you know what your trigger situations are. For me, a big trigger is letting myself get hungry when I’m away from the house. So I always carry some emergency rations with me, usually a small bag of raw almonds.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

