Expert: Jason Paulson

20 09 2009

Hello Painted Ladies!

My name is Jason Paulson and I’m a freelance celebrity makeup artist living in New York City.

It seems the stars have been aligned for me from quite an early age; as a Pisces, I’ve been creative from just about day one. In my childhood, I had a hankering for finger painting and dreamed of making a difference in the world. Fast forward a couple decades, and more stars started lining up, this time, in the form of Gisele Bundchen, Angelina Jolie, Kathleen Turner and Brooke Shields.

old_pc 2850

My path from Crayola to cream shadow was a circuitous one. After high school I studied Early Childhood Development and Special Education and worked in the classroom, which was a rewarding and satisfying experience. My artistic side remained untapped, so I took on a night job as a retail makeup artist. As a makeup artist, my goal has always been to create a positive and memorable experience for people, no matter what I’m doing.

It is not just about makeup, it is about making people feel good, and my overall goal as an artist is to enhance the beauty of women with color and contour. After working with MAC Cosmetics for a few years and growing a loyal clientele, I took a leap of faith and moved to N.Y.C to be a freelance makeup artist.

Soon after arriving, I became a protegé to makeup gurus like Matin and Brigitte Reiss-Andersen, and that’s when my national popularity rose to stratospheric heights. Mine is a real dream-come-true story and it’s always wonderful to hear my celebrity clients rave about my flattering use of color and gentle demeanor.

I’m looking forward to sharing my experiences with the Painted Ladies readers, and answering any questions you might have for me.In the meanwhile, you can learn more about me and see my portfolio at http://jasonpaulson.com/.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 09 2009
Jessi Pagel

Nice to meet you Jason! And congrats on an amazing career! It’s great to meet some new colleague!

22 09 2009
Lisa’s 5-Minute Face «

[…] five minutes to do my makeup in the morning. I learned from my friend and Painted Ladies expert Jason that some days I just may decide all I need is to create shading on my face with a stick foundation […]

27 09 2009
Ask an Artist: Jason « Painted Ladies

[…] Ask an Artist: Jason By Jason […]

5 03 2010
The Boston Terrier: an Overview | Terrier Dogs Training Tips

[…] Expert: Jason Paulson « […]

Leave a Reply

