Have I Told ‘Shu’ Lately That I Love You?

17 09 2009

By Sheila

If you are in any shape or form a lover of makeup, then you most likely know the feeling I’m about to describe.

Say you have a drawer drawers full of makeup that you don’t get the chance to attend to very often, because most of the time you can’t fully primp in the morning. You kinda sorta remember what’s in those drawers and move along with your life, always intending to use your pretty colors at some point in the future. There’s always a party on the horizon, right?

Days, weeks, and months pass, then one day you actually have some free moments and realize you haven’t looked through your makeup treasury for quite a long time … maybe it’s time to sit and play around with your favorite treats while you can. And then …it happens; you see makeup you have no recollection of ever acquiring.What bliss! It’s lovely, no doubt, but … how? When? Why?? What a treat!

That’s how I felt a couple weeks ago when I had a napping child and some spare time. Going through some makeup, I happened across a lovely Shu Uemura eyeshadow palette that was gifted to me by a very sweet and generous friend a while back. How great to come across it and try some new colors — on a typical day, I choose my eyeshadows from a set I keep in a plastic pencil box. Less fuss and it’s just easier that way.

031blog

[Sidenote: shortly after that photo was taken, a certain cute and adorable 2-year old promptly dug his fingers into 4 of the 8 shadows!  Kids! 🙂 ]

Sitting down to play with the shadows, I realized I’d also forgotten how much I love Shu Uemura eyeshadows. They’re just so pretty and sparkly and I can’t help loving that BLUE! As Megan, one of Painted Ladies’ Mavens, would say, there is an inner Liza in me just dying to get out!

This particular palette was a holiday limited edition  from last year with seven powder shadows, a cream eyeliner, and a dual-headed sponge-tip/eyeliner brush that I will definitely keep! You know how brushes included in similar kits are flimsy and easily breakable? Not this handy, dandy little brush!

Limited, you say? What’s the point? The point is, they’re a fab selection of Shu Uemura shadows and I want to shout this out to the blogosphere! Looking on Mr. Uemura’s website, it seems as if the shades in this palette were specific to this set, and not part of the regular collection, however there are comparable colors in the permanent range.

047

Hello, naked and sad eyebrow.

 If a bit on the pricey side, Shu Uemura’s shadows are packed with pigments which means you don’t have to spend so much time loading shadow on your brush.The shadow colors not only blend beautifully, but they also remain vibrant hours later. Shu, I think I love you … I really do.

Shu Uemura products are available online, and there’s a retail location finder on the website as well.

 

Have you recently rediscovered any long-lost makeup products?

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 09 2009
Desiree

I am the same way about my Stila LE palettes! That said, I love, love LOVE Shu’s ME silver 950 eyeshadow. It’s so versatile and wonderful for a smokey eye!

17 09 2009
Desiree

That’s a beautiful palette, btw…

18 09 2009
Megan

Never deny the INNER LIZA!

Leave a Reply

