Review of Sigma Makeup Brushes

14 09 2009

By Cindy

It’s confession time.  In all my years of wearing makeup, I have never put much thought into my makeup brushes.  Shameful, I know.  When I have thought about brushes, MAC was the first line that popped into my mind, but their prices have always kept me away.

I think I have redeemed myself, however, when I recently purchased the Sigma Makeup 12 Piece Professional Brush Set.  Reviews have been popping up on YouTube and other blogs about this company and many of them are comparing these brushes to MAC’s.  Are they MAC dupes? Not sure, but they are most definitely MAC-inspired.  They even go so far as to use the same brush numbers as MAC.  One thing’s for certain, however – these brushes are very good quality.

I ordered the kit with a brush roll for $89.  Without the roll, it’s $69, which is an excellent value, in my opinion.  Here’s what you get for the face:

  • SS150 Large Powder Brush
  • SS190 Foundation Brush
  • SS187 Duo Fibre Brush
  • SS168 Large Angled Contour Brush
  • SS194 Concealer Brush

And for the eyes:

  • SS275 Medium Angled Shading Brush
  • SS266 Small Angle Brush
  • SS252 Large Shader Brush
  • SS219 Pencil Brush
  • SS224 Tapered Blending Brush
  • SS209 Eyeliner Brush
  • SS239 Eye Shading Brush

When I ordered the set, they included a free travel-sized SS217 Blending Brush as a limited-time promotion.  I have been using many of the brushes already, and am quite impressed with the overall quality and how well they do their job.  The SS224 blew me away when I used it for my eye crease.  Now I know why my eye makeup was just so-so – I haven’t been using the right tools until now.  The SS150 I use for my MAC Studio Fix is excellent! And the SS209 Eyeliner Brush? I must say, my line was perfect.

sigma2-1

I cleaned all the brushes before using them and experienced very little shedding.  You really can’t go wrong with these.  My only complaint about Sigma is that not all of the brushes in the kit can be purchased individually.  Only seven brushes are listed for individual sale.  I hope that changes in the future.

For the heck of it, I went to the MAC site and compared prices.  If you bought all of the comparable brushes from MAC, your total would be $333! $333 vs. $89…that’s quite a savings!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 04 2013
Web Site

Hello mates, its great article concerning teachingand fully defined, keep it up all
the time.

18 10 2013
make up brushes set sale

I simply such as the worthwhile info anyone present for ones articles. I’m going to bookmark your website and take a look at again in this article regularly. I am sensibly certain Let me become familiar with a large amount of completely new goods perfect below! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

