I’ll Try it Episode 3- Oh! The Places You’ll Glow!

13 09 2009

By Megan 

oglow

Courtesy of Sephora.com

It’s that time of year again, the first frost is fast approaching the East Coast and a girl’s mind turns to Fall/Winter looks. Somewhere in my imagination I am a porcelain-skinned goddess with perfectly flushed cheeks, lips, and sparkled fairy eyes. I have long chased this look and had varying degrees of disaster. I believe my first stint with perfectly flushed cheeks and lips started with a peculiar green colored lipstick that, when on your lips, turned to your amazing “just bitten” lip shade. You remember these lipsticks; they turned the same color of “ old lady going to church” on just about everyone. I never learn my lesson on make-up gimmicks so I just HAD to try Smashbox’s  O-Glow.

 Smashbox O-Glow is supposed to make your cheeks look like you’ve just watched that dream Sookie had about Eric Northman on True Blood. The clear gel is supposed to go on your skin, adapt to your color with some star-trek color technology and give you an amazing flush.  Smashbox calls it an “intuitive cheek color” that adapts to your chemistry because of some magic smurf or goji berry. I was smitten.

Unfortunately, it seems my body chemistry had different ideas than I had. The O-Glow did not give me the snow princess-flush…oh no, the minute the gel hit my finger it turned to a color known only by interior designers whose portfolio exhibits businesses named “ The Dollhouse” and “Bang-Bangs.” I am not one who is afraid of color, so I put this on my cheeks anyway. The results were not very good. Every pore was encircled by a bright pink glow. The effect was more “ smacked about” and less “ just made out.” I was so disappointed, so I stashed it away. 

This morning, however, I had a stroke of genius. I applied the O-Glow under my Stila Illuminating foundation, followed by MAC Blot powder. Quelle Surprise!! It was a gorgeous lit-from-within look. I even went so far as to put it on my lips. It works beautifully as a quick lip look. I didn’t check to see if it was lip-safe, so I might grow another head over-night. You may want to check on the lip-safe stuff yourself. 

I really should’ve known better. I was the one who discovered that a damp sponge takes Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation from mask-like to utterly flawless.  I guess I have to remember that application is often way more important than product!!

Smashbox O-Glow is available at Sephora and retails for $26.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 09 2009
desiree

I want this now!!!

13 09 2009
sheilasharkee

I want this, too! Going on my long Sephora wish list. 🙂

13 09 2009
beautyjudy

Great review!

Leave a Reply

