Battle of the Bulge, Part 2

12 09 2009

By Sheila

Because this is a beauty blog that encompasses both inner and outer beauty, I’m sharing my journey as I attempt to reach my weight loss goal of fifty pounds within the next year.

If I were completely happy, I wouldn’t be doing this, but truth be told, I’m not satisfied with the status quo — the time has come for making a permanent change. My overall goal is to lose weight and also to finally conquer my food-related demons to make a life-long change.

So, here we go.

Step one – admitting my faults.

  • Vegetarian
  • Low-Carber /Atkins Devotee /Somersizer
  • Weight Watcher
  • Eating Disordered
  • Compulsive Overeater
  • Confused
My official before shot, may as well make it one where I’m all gussied up. What long-lost Kardashian sister do I think I am, anyway?

Offical before shot. What long-lost Kardashian sister do I think I am, anyway?

Yes, I’ve been all of those things in my life, the last on the list the title I’m currently sporting. In my life, I’ve gained and lost hundreds of pounds. No joke. I’ve been on a diet since I was 11, concerned with my weight since way before that, and never entirely satisfied with my self-image. That’s a LONG time to feel that way!

When I lost a large amount of weight before I fell pregnant with my son, I was a hard-core low carb devotee. Low carb eating DOES for many people, but there is little room for error, and lets get real – when it comes down to it, I’m really not going to say no to that slice of cake at a birthday party, and little slips like that are what cause all good intentions to come to an end.

Here’s what I’m doing wrong, generally speaking:

  • No real plan
  • Not being mindful of what I’m eating
  • Being in denial

Something I’ve learned in my life: if you don’t fully understand why you’re gaining weight in the first place, any dreams of losing weight for good are hopeless, because you’ll inevitably go back to your old habits. I’m hoping to get to that place where, if I look at a slice of cake, I can have just that one slice, and not fall so hopelessly off the ball that there is no hope of returning until I try again a year later. That may sound a little dramatic, but if you don’t have a healthy relationship with food to begin with, it’s reality.

Step 2: How am I going to do this?

When it comes down to the nitty gritty, I believe that long-term weight loss is about not eating so darned much and moving around more often, and scientific research backs this up.

Here’s what I’m planning on changing right now:

  • Track food intake. This part scares me, but it’s necessary.

Truth be told, I have never known what a proper portion size is like. Funny how the mind works – I really do think I’m eating ok, but this plate of spaghetti (my second serving, btw) would beg to disagree. Fortunately, it’s easy to do this with programs like fitday, which is free to use online.

It’s going to be a challenge. There may be tears involved. But it’s all about those baby steps, baby – the small you can take towards your larger goal.

Have you made any changes to your eating habits recently?

See Battle of the Bulge, Part 1 here.

Actions

Information

13 responses

12 09 2009
Megan

Ok! I am with you on this!!

12 09 2009
Desiree

Me too!! Tomorrow… 😛 xoxo! You and we, can do this!!!!!!!!!!!!

12 09 2009
Cindy G.

My goal is 50lbs too! I’m with you all the way!

12 09 2009
sheilasharkee

It’s Taryn (I’m always too lazy to log out of here and use my own account). My goal is to cut back on the processed foods and sugar. Anyone with me on that?

12 09 2009
Amelia

why do you consider having been a vegetarian a fault?

12 09 2009
sheilasharkee

Hi Amelia,

I should have been a bit more clear, but I don’t believe that being a Vegetarian is necessarily a fault.

In my own experience, when I was a Vegetarian, I was at my largest weight, so clearly I was doing something wrong.

In the coming weeks I’ll write more about my personal issues and go into more detail about them. It’s not the eating plan, per se, for me, it’s the fact that I have a bad attitude towards food. My goal is to change the way I see food, and who knows — I might just end up eating more of a vegetable-based diet.

🙂

Sheila

12 09 2009
Laurie

Totally inspiring post, Sheila. I’m completely in this with you.

12 09 2009
Lenette

I’m looking forward to learning from you Sheila. I really need to make changes too.

And yes Taryn-I’m with you!

13 09 2009
Cindy G.

I’m with you too Taryn. That’s what I have been doing and getting my carbs with fresh vegetables. I’ve lost 19 lbs so far.

13 09 2009
fizex

there are 10 simple tips that you can practice in order to achieve the dream of:

1. Set your goals slowly. Get decrease in the range of 0.5kg to 1kg per week.
2. Can take supplements such as Glutamine each day after exercise session.
3. Reduce the intake of food or drink sweet (sugar content high).
4. Just eat fruit instead.
5. Drinks more mineral water and do not drink alcoholic beverages.
6. Set the time you eat each day.
7. Eat in the dining area and not in front of the tv.
8. Familiarize themselves with the smaller plates when eating.
9. Fill your days with doing certain activities to avoid fun thought of food.
10. Make sure you get adequate rest. For example bedtime. Sleep in 6 to 8 hours a day.

You can follow all this tips to get more ideal body, visits here to more info..

14 09 2009
Melissa

Hi there-

I had success on WW but the reason why is because it forced me to track my food intake and really pay attention to what I was eating and why.

I would highly rec the book the Eat Clean Diet. Not because it’s a fad diet, because it gives some good sound advice on eating and just overall ‘clean’ eating. I don’t follow this to a T (because I just honestly don’t have the time and I like M&Ms!) but I do try to incorporate it at least 75%.

Wishing you the best of luck and look forward to your updates!

18 09 2009
Battle of the Bulge, Part 3 «

[…] Battle of the Bulge: Part 1 Battle of the Bulge: Part 2 […]

27 09 2009
Battle of the Bulge, Part 4 « Painted Ladies

[…] Battle of the Bulge, Part 2 […]

Leave a Reply

