My Five Minute Face

11 09 2009

By Taryn

Looking presentable never needs to take even 10 minutes or more.  Many times after waking up late and finding I have very minimal time to put together my face, I turn to a selection of products I have on hand that make prettying up quick and easy.

IMG_0283

Not everything you see here is still available, but every single item can be easily duped.

Many times, I can get away with no foundation as long as I use a good concealer.  I almost always have red spots from active blemishes and faded ones, so there is never a day that concealer is not an option.  This Five Minute Face is based on going without foundation for that particular day.

Here are my key essentials:

  1. NARS The Multiple in almost any neutral or pinkish color.  The one featured here is Riviera.
  2. Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Powder.  It’s never too powdery or dusty and applies like silk.
  3. L’Oreal Air Wear Concealer.  This has been discontinued, which is a shame since it goes on very light yet covers extremely well and is never cakey.  NYX makes an excellent wand concealer that is similar in consistency.
  4. Your basic liquid shadow.  This one is a Korean brand and I can’t remember where it came from, but basically any cream or liquid will do.  The idea is to make it easy to just use your fingers to swipe it on and go.
  5. 100% Pure’s Fruit-Pigmented Lip and Cheek Tint.  This is a cheaper alternative to the NARS Multiple, only with less color choices.  The nice thing about this brand is that it is indeed 100% pure – no nasty chemicals in these products! It smells good and applies very easily and lasts a good amount of time on my oily skin.
  6. A stick eye shadow.  I use this on days when I’d like an alternative to the cream or liquid shadow options.  This one is from Sugar and was in Sephora’s virtual discount bin so it’s no longer available, but check out MAC’s Shadesticks or NYX’s Jumbo Eye Pencils as alternatives.
  7. A big, fat, easy to apply eyeliner.  This is actually one of NYX’s Jumbo Eye Pencils in Horse Raddish (a review is forthcoming on these!) and it can function both as a shadow and a liner.  Tons of colors and convenience – who could ask for anything more?! I can literally apply these without a mirror if need be.
  8. Lise Watier Duo Lip Crayon.  Application with a fat pencil is a breeze since you can line and color your lips all in one easy step.  This one is discontinued, but check out Shiseido’s Automatic Lip Crayons or NYX’s Jumbo Lipstick Pencils, which are just as good.
  9. Tarte 24/7 Lip Sheer.  This is another good option for your lips when time is of the essence.  These apply sheer and don’t take a lot of time to get just right, and are easily totable, all-natural and have the most refreshing peppermint scent.
  10. Anastasia’s Brow Fix.  Many times I don’t feel like penciling in the ends of my brows, and one swipe of this waxy stick is enough to make my thin brow ends look longer and more lush with no need for color.
  11. My Avon Magix Tinted Face Perfector! If you read my review, this product speaks for itself.  It truly makes going without foundation a breeze.
  12. Mary Kate & Ashley Paper Me Pretty blush papers.  Not sure if these are still around, but they were a cheap find at WalMart and are incredibly useful.  You can travel with these and there is plenty of pigment for an application on both cheeks.  They are definitely worth a trip to Wally World to see if you can snag them.

So there’s my Five Minute Face! Please share what yours is!

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 09 2009
beautyjudy

Impressive! My five minute face is generally brushing on some Urban Decay Surreal Skin Foundation, some Too Faced Pink Leopard bronzer/blush and swiping my lips with a gloss or lipstick. Sometimes – in summer – I’ll even put a dusting of MAC blotting powder over it.

Looking forward to the NYX jumbo eyeliner review!

12 09 2009
darlene martin

Actually I am looking forward to the NYX eye pencil review too….as I just ordered the Avon Magix stuff…..still enabling after all these years! 🙂
My five minute face (which I just did today):
-Physician’s Formula pressed minerals in Light,applied where needed only with a damp BB sponge.
-Swipe of Stila Convertible Color in Peony on cheeks
-brow powder (I mixed it myself out of taupe and copper eyeshadows) applied with a brush and then set with a bit of hair pomade and a baby toothbrush
-wash of PF Canyon Classic e/s palette(matte gray,stone,taupe,or dusty rose)
-Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascara in Auburn,upper lashes only
-Cover Girl Outlast lip color in Buff

12 09 2009
sheilasharkee

Wow, you gals do better than me (Taryn here, BTW)! I wish I could use PF’s mineral foundation because the texture is great, but the colors didn’t match my skin. 😦

I could do a two minute face if my skin would clear up and I could go without concealer.

Anyhoo, I’m waiting on an order with a few more NYX pencils, so once I get it, I’ll take new pics and write it up. I want to give you all swatches of my whole collection.

Leave a Reply

