Mark’s Urban Neutrals Review

7 09 2009

By Lisa

Like many girls who were raised in the suburbs, my first glimpse into the world of beauty came courtesy of the Avon lady. She would arrive with a huge bag full of potions and colors, and she and my mother would spend hours together going over products, talking and laughing. I would sit close by and watch them, waiting patiently for the day when I could be part of the fun. I credit these early memories for making me see cosmetics not only as a bonding experience between women but as something you should play and experiment with.

Times have changed and even though Avon still prints its huge catalog of products, you can now buy their products online instead of just though the Avon lady. Avon also went after a younger market by introducing Mark cosmetics, a hipper line that has “The Hills” star Lauren Conrad as its spokeswoman (I have to confess I didn’t know who she was – thank heavens for Google). And while I am not in the target age group for this line, I have been consistently impressed with its quality, selection and value. My favorite products in the line are the Mark Flip For Its – portable palm-sized palettes with coordinating shades of eyeshadow, blush and gloss/lipstick ($20). Their newest Flip For It is Urban Neutrals, a collection of gorgeous fall shades that will work for most skin tones.

urban neutrals palette

The first side of the Flip For It contains two shadows. Metro is a slightly shimmery champagne color that can be worn all over the lid as a wash, while Skyline is a matte chocolate brown that makes an excellent contour shade or liner. I use Metro in the crease for day and add as a liner for a quick night time transformation. Both shadows are soft and silky, with terrific staying power. Also on this side of the palette is the blush, Urban Glow, a beautiful sheer peachy-pink shade that is a warmer (but not TOO warm), less sparkly version of NARS Orgasm. It makes me look like I am glowing from within.

A quick flip of the palette reveals two lipsticks and two glosses. The lipsticks are Ambiance, a neutral pink that gives my natural lip color a boost, and Attitude, a flattering rosy brown. The glosses are Siren, a berry shade that looks dark in the pan but goes on sheer for a “I just ate a cherry Popsicle” look; and Moody, a clear gloss that adds shine when worn alone or over one of the other colors. All four are creamy and feel great on the lips. They can be blended and layered for an endless variety of looks.

This palette would be a perfect gift for a young woman who is new to makeup. Having everything all in one place takes all the guess work out of pulling together a fall look. I’m not looking forward to the cold weather but I am looking forward to bringing this palette into my cosmetic rotation.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

