Etailers

3 09 2009

By Lisa

I love supporting small businesses so I’m always thrilled when I find a holy grail beauty product through a beauty etailer. Most have generous sampling programs and reasonable prices. You definitely cannot beat the customer service – I’ve received some very valuable advice on what products to try, often directly from the business owner. I can count on one hand the instances when they gave me a color choice that didn’t work or recommended something that irritated my skin. That being said, not all of the products were right for me. There are three etailers though that have earned my loyalty.

Beauty Bliss Cosmetics: Like everyone else, I was mesmerized by the late night infomercials that promised flawless skin with a few strokes of a brush.  Unfortunately, all of the name brand mineral makeup I tried contained bismuth oxychloride, which makes me itchy and shiny – not a good look. The women on a beauty board I visit started posting about mineral makeup without it – mostly those offered by boutique brands. I went a little crazy and ordered samples from about 10 different etailers. Some weren’t a good match for my coloring while others caked on my skin. Still others turned orange after a few hours of wear. One winner did emerge and that was Beauty Bliss, a true micro-business run by Lynn Starner. I Iove her original mineral foundation in Natural – a perfect match for my fair skin with warm undertones. I wear a little bit of Sheer Bliss finishing powder on top for a polished, professional look. I also find myself reaching for her Ultimate Finishing Powder in Pure Bliss. It it perfect for casual days – it evens out my skin tone and controls oil. It is like a tinted moisturizer in powder form. The sampling program for this company is excellent – samples start at $1.25 and you can order as many as you like.

Spell Cosmetics: Another irritation-free mineral cosmetics company, this one gets props for their color collections. If you can’t find an eyeshadow, blush and gloss that work for you, you are being stubborn! I especially like their kits, which are a terrific value and most contain several eyeshadows, with a matching blush and lipstick. Their Laura Christopher Radiance Collection ($35) gave me a natural, pretty look all summer long. The kit contains eyeshadows in easy to wear neutral shades of cream (Vanilla Sugar), shimmery medium brown (Brown Sugar) and light brown with pink tones (Pink Coffee); Toasted Coconut blush, which gives my cheeks a warm flush; and Pink Sand Lip Creme for a sheer gleam. For a limited time, you can choose a free Baciare Lip Creme with any purchase of this collection.

Hoity Toity: It is hard to beat Hoity Toity for generosity. They are known for sending a huge assortment of samples free of charge to those who want to try their products before they buy. The scent selection is staggering so if scented lotions are your weakness, this etailer will make you very happy. My favorite products are the sulfate-free Sheer Satin Shampoo – Shea Butter Formula ($7), the Sheer Satin Conditioner ($7) and the alcohol-free Natural Hairstyling Gel – Natural Hold ($8). They keep my highlights sparkling and my curls bouncy. My favorite scents are Sweet Pear, Red Apple, Italian Ice, Orange Ginger and Winter Cranberry.

What are your favorite etailers?
Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2009
Weekly Recap, 9/6/09 «

[…] Maven Lisa reviews her favorite etailers. […]

6 09 2009

Leave a Reply

