Retro Corner: Kissing Koolers

2 09 2009

By Taryn

Once in awhile I thought I’d do a little feature on products from our past, ones that we fondly remember that dropped off the face of the earth.

Today’s entry is about Maybelline’s Kissing Koolers, those neat little marbleized lip glosses that came in flavors like Peppermint Twist, Tutti Frutti, Watermelon, Strawberry Fizz and Cherry Cola. My good friend E and I were crazy for the things and E would slather so much Tutti Frutti on that her lips turned purple. I, on the other hand, would apply Watermelon and wind up with gray lips that had me looking like I was ready for a showing at the local funeral parlor.

Still, the scents were amazing, and the little domed tubes adorable.

I happen to have some stashed away that I refuse to part with just for nostalgia’s sake. The picture below shows them all, which I had at one point, but I pruned my collection and now only have three left. Still, they all smell as they always did, so Maybelline must have pickled these things.

Ah, the 80s and early 90s sure were fun times…

koolers

Actions

Information

16 responses

2 09 2009
sheilasharkee

I can’t believe you held on to these! LOL … I used to LOOOOVE the Watermelon one. 🙂

2 09 2009
beautyjudy

OMG I loved these things!!! Thanks for the flashback!!!

2 09 2009
darlene martin

I LOVED these! Mmmmm I had them all too,along with every Kissing Potion (the rollerball liquid) and the giant Bonne Bell Lipsmackers. Looking back,my lip product obsession started earlier than I realized, LOL !
I would roll on so much of the liquid rollerball stuff that sometimes it would *drip* off my lips…..eeeeuuwwwwwww

2 09 2009
Abby

ohhhhhh…..*flashbacks*….I loved these Kissing Koolers! Seventh grade, Stand By Me soundtrack in my tape deck, goofing off with friend Suzie…I mean, those were the days. Kissing Potions were great too…I still have the mint one that my Pop Pop bought for me at the grocery store. I refuse to get rid of the container (it is empty). That was good stuff!

2 09 2009
Marissa

Taryn,
I just jumped over from cosmetica, where i was led after typing “mac spanish fly” into google. If you still have yours lying around somewhere, and a paypal account, I’d love to buy it from you.

Thanks.

Marissa

2 09 2009
sheilasharkee

Marissa, it’s Taryn (I use this login because it’s the only one I can post from). Thank you so much for the offer, but I can’t part with them! They’re my little link to my tween/teenage years.

I only have three now because I got rid of a couple of them. I wish I’d saved those other two!

21 12 2009
lindsay mays

you forgot about banana split! you remembered every other flavor except that one. tutti frutti was my absolute favorite! i loved strawberry fizz too though.

25 07 2010
Taudra

I too loved these!! I only had two. I still have the Winter Grape, cannot remember the other one I had. But every time I smell the Winter Grape it brings me back to the Christmas that I got it. I remember how I felt and the Miami Sound Machine cassette tape I got..LOL Good times!! Sweet Memories!

23 06 2011
Anna

They’re available at stores.ebay.com/cassiecosmetics
The peppermint twist has always been my favorite.

4 05 2012
Christina Griffin

I am trying to bring the Maybelline Kissing Koolers back. Please watch this …

31 05 2012
27 05 2012
Alicia Coombe

Please bring this product back it is fantastic!!!! (My Favorites in order Peppermint love it alot absolute favorite!!!!!,Watermelon smells excellent tastes great,Strawberry fizz again smells great tastes great,Cherry cola gives great lip color but I dont like the taste as much as the others then tutti frutti is my least favorite but there still all fantastic please please bring these back
I remember going to my local pharmacy as a young girl to buy just these and the kissing potion as well!!!!!!!!!!

31 05 2012
31 05 2012
Grace Deason

Please join my group! We’re trying to get Maybelline to bring back the Kissing Kooler. https://www.facebook.com/groups/2209854129/

18 08 2012
Brandi

Oh man, how I loved these things…bittersweet memories of seventh and eighth grade, sleepovers and Def Leppard’s “Hysteria” cassette. I had the watermelon (which I actually ingested an entire tube of one sleepover night on a dare, lol) and the Peppermint, which was my fave by far. I’d give a lot to have these back on the market, as I know my own daughter would adore them, and she just loves hearing about all things eighties, as she cannot even imagine life without the internet, mp3’s, cell phones and digital cameras. 🙂

28 12 2012
Roz

I love love loved the cherry cola! I wish they would bring them back

Leave a Reply

