I’ll Try it! Episode 2

2 09 2009

By Megan

Episode 2- The Facelift 

In a prior blog we have established that I have hair the texture of  Beaker the Muppet. My hair texture is crazy at best and unpredictable at worst, there are times when my stylists cannot create a consistent hairstyle. This unfortunate hair issue makes me super susceptible to lots of nonsense you see on TV. I am always looking for an easy way to do my hair. My latest shameful purchase? The EZ COMB.

Source

The EZ comb promises to give you sophisticated, easy hairstyles with a bunch of elastic and beads attached to two metal combs. The commercial claims it is comfortable, easy to use, and will not make your brain hurt like claw clips, or something to that effect. The commercial also claims that you can do dozens of hairstyles. 

The commercial was way, way, way, way, way off. Getting this contraption in your hair is like trying to get a group of kittens and a group of toddlers to do Swan Lake. One side may be fine, while the other side is peeing on the floor. It is really HARD to put the EZ Comb in your hair. The elastic keeps snapping back. You need about four hands and a master’s degree in engineering to do anything that slightly resembles a decent hairstyle. 

The commercial claims you can do dozens of hairstyles, but the only hairstyle I can manage is a strange mullet-facelift look. Not a good facelift either, we are talking Don Johnson 2008 blown through a wind tunnel look. I couldn’t stand to wear it and Lily won’t let me near her with it in my hands. In fact she runs through the house with her hands on her head screaming “ No mommy! No!” 

Perhaps in more able hands, this would be a great styling tool. For me, this was a hysterical disaster.

 EZ Combs are available at fine retailers everywhere.

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 09 2009
Abby

can’t stop laughing! You walked me through a truly hysterical event. Well, I’m glad you tried it…I’ve seen them, and have been curious.

2 09 2009
Desiree

ROFL!!! You are hysterical, Megan! Please do more…. 🙂

2 09 2009
Carol

Funny review! I was looking at those and wondering if they were really as easy to use as they said. Thanks for saving me the money!

16 02 2011
Tori

Well… While very funny, I have to disagree I have thick wavy hair that frizzes like medusa on a good day. And I have two sets of these ezcombs that I picked up at sally beauty supply. I don’t know what I would do with out them. They hold my hair fine.
If you twist your hair up for french twist with both hands and then hold it with your left, while taking the clip in your right and pinching one side with your thumb and fore finger, it can be slid into your hair from the right back and held in place by your left hand as you pull the other half over the twist. At least that’s how I’ve been doing it.. sounds complicate yes. but once you master it it’s snap.
They are very comfortable and I’ve even fallen asleep with them in my hair and not had claw headache.. They are great for long car trips cause you can keep your hair up and not worry about leaning back and bruising your scalp in the process.

Just my 2 cent’s worth.
T

Leave a Reply

