Ask An Artist: 10 Things I Can’t Live Without In My Kit

2 09 2009

By Elise

I’d have to say even though I love my entire kit of goodies, there are a few things that I wouldn’t be able to function without!

  1. Translucent Powder has to be my #1 item because it helps to set make-up, mattify oily skin, and gives a smooth and flawless look to any client or model. Two favorite brands that I use are Cover Fx and MUFE’s HD Microfinish Powder.
  2. Bronzer is a definite must-have as I can use it warm up the skin and give it a natural glow and I can also use it to contour the cheekbones as well as give depth to parts of the face if necessary. I love MAC’s Refined Golden as well as NARS Laguna or Tarte’s Park Avenue Princess. All are soft and subtle.
  3. Mascara: What would we do without mascara??? It is imperative to have mascara to help define and give eyes a polished look when you want it to be natural or to really add on the layers when you want that total glam!!! I’ve even taken a flatliner brush to my mascara when I was missing a liquid liner and used it as an eyeliner.  Some brands that I love are MUFE’s Smoky Lash, Guerlain’s Le 2 and Sephora’s Lash Stretcher, which are all very nice.  Of course the steadfast Great Lash by Maybelline is fantastic too!
  4. Peach-tone concealer is a staple in my kit because it helps me to cover up dark under eye circles, dark pigmentation like freckles and scars, and bruises on the skin. A little bit goes a long way and the peachy tone helps to counteract the purplish/bluish tones in pigmentation. I love Erase Paste from Benefit.
  5. Matte Brown/Taupe Eye Shadow: I love this because I can use it softly to deepen the creases of the eyes without being too heavy and also use it to define eyebrows. Depending on the skintone, I can sometimes use it to contour as well so long as it’s not too ashy.
  6. DUO eyelash glue: Not only is this glue superb for adhering false eyelashes to the lashline, but it also does a swell job of adding jewels to the face to give a 3D effect. Dries super fast and to a clear finish; non-irritating and does just a fabulous job.
  7. Water: I always have a spray bottle of water in my kit. I can wet my brush to make my eyeshadows wet to foil them onto the eyes or to use as liner. I can add water to sheer out moisturizers and foundations. Water has so many uses and can help intensify or dilute colors easily with no fuss.
  8. Eyeshadow Primer: I love eyeshadow primer.  It’s imperative to use eyeshadow primer if you want to keep that smoky eye in place and on your face all day! I apply a dot or two all over the eyelid and under the lower lash line before doing my eye makeup. It keeps everything steadfast like a magnet.  Some key ones that I love are Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion and Smashbox Lid and Lip Primer.  You can also use the primer on the edges of your lip to keep lipstick/gloss from feathering and bleeding out.
  9. Peach/pink tone blushes work well on nearly every skintone. I like blushes that have a slight shimmer so that it gives every gal a subtle glow and a more youthful appearance. Some of my faves are NARS Deep Throat, Orgasm, Sin and also Laura Gellar’s Pink Grapefruit, which is what I use on almost every client and on myself.  You can also mix these blushes with a clear lipgloss to use on your lips too!
  10. All-over face primers are so important in my kit as they help to mattify shiny clients and also “fill in” the deeper pores and those clients that have a thicker texture to their skin. Face primers help to smooth everything out, fill in unevenness and provide you with a canvas that will produce a flawless finish every time. I never want to make my clients look heavily made up and using a face primer ensures a more polished look. Some favorite primers are MUFE HD Primer and Dr. Brandt’s Pores No More.
Actions

Information

2 responses

28 07 2013
anti aging cream women over 50

Good article! We will be linking to this great post on our site.
Keep up the great writing.

30 08 2013
Miguel

I simply couldn’t depart your web site prior to
suggesting that I actually loved the usual info a person supply in your guests?
Is gonna be back ceaselessly to inspect new posts

Leave a Reply

