Problem Spots

30 08 2009

By Sheila

“I never thought it would happen to me,” I said as I stared at the freckles on my decolletage in dismay. Sometime after my 30th birthday, they seemingly popped up overnight, despite my vigilance with sunscreen through the years. And is that the faint sign of the dreaded “11” in between my brows? And darker bags under my eyes? Don’t tell me those are NEW stretch marks! Wasn’t it just yesterday when I was young?

Although I hate the thought of it, I’m no spring chicken anymore, and it’s starting to show in my outside appearance. My friends and family claim they don’t see anything, but you know yourself better than anyone, and I’m determined to get in control of these slight changes and age as gracefully as I can. It’s not that I’m so opposed to aging as that I’m kind of shocked by it and wondering if I can prevent any further skin damage from occuring.

November marks the first anniversary of my divorce, and I know in my heart that it’s time for me to put away the excuses and make the coming year my year of renewal. By next November I will be in control of my weight; I will have a regular exercise plan in spite of the crazy, single mom schedule; I will re-evaluate my skin care plan.

Deal? Deal.

Actions

Information

One response

30 08 2009
jenn

Those are two of my goals before my birthday too. (Mine’s at the end of October.)

Leave a Reply

