Expert: Sarah Pennington

28 08 2009

kucek062307_0246

Hello! My name is Sarah; I am a professional makeup artist in Atlanta. Growing up my mom worked for various department store cosmetic counters and always had lots of makeup around the house, which I was allowed to experiment with. Generally I was pretty cautious, and spent a lot of time just looking at the packaging, imagining what it would be like to be a glamorous grown up. Cosmetics seemed to hold some sort of secret to being a woman, which fascinated me. By the time I was 13 I was wearing makeup to school everyday. Within the year I was going for the black liquid liners and bright red lipsticks.

I don’t often find myself wearing red lips and liquid liner anymore. It’s a look I have to be in the mood for, though I admit I have quite the collection of red lipcolors. In fact, doing my own makeup is not something that I spend a lot of time on. I like to get my basics on and out the door in 10 minutes or less, the majority of my time spent on making my skin look nice. My passion really lies in doing other women’s makeup. It’s so gratifying to see a woman look at herself in a new way, seeing a beauty that maybe she had never seen before. So often it’s just a small tweak here or there that can really make a difference in a woman’s look.

I take pride in my ability to listen to a woman’s needs. We’ve all had that horrible makeover where you want to run to a bathroom and wipe it off. My goal is to find out what challenges, goals, concerns, likes, dislikes, and visions that a woman has, and find a look that will make her feel like the most confident and beautiful version of herself.

In addition to makeup I apply eyelash extensions. It’s a service that I enjoy very much, and am constantly researching, from chemistry of adhesives to styling techniques. Since it is such detailed work near the very important, sensitive eyes, I feel it’s important to be as skilled and knowledgeable in this procedure as possible.

Between lashes and makeup, I am beautifying women every day. I feel fortunate to do something that I love so much, and look forward to sharing anything I can with the readers of this site!

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 08 2009
darlene martin

welcome Sarah! You are such a sweetie…..

28 08 2009
Carol

Hi Sarah-great to see you here!

29 08 2009
Ask an Expert «

[…] an Expert 29 08 2009 Today, resident Painted Ladies expert Sarah Pennington takes some time to answer your questions. An accomplished makeup artist and eyelash extension […]

Leave a Reply

