Single Mom Beauty Survival Tools, Part One

25 08 2009

By Sheila

Funny story: I live in a teensy apartment complex and recently heard through the grapevine that one of my neighbors thinks I’m spraying bug spray in the air in an attempt to poison her and the neighborhood feral cat she’s adopted. Crazy, I know. My first response upon hearing this news was, “But I don’t even have time to brush my teeth!!!”

Not really, I mean, I DO brush my teeth every day, but truthfully, as a single mom, I don’t always have the extra time to sit down and do a full face of makeup. This is especially true on the weekends, since my two-year old is a nature-loving boy who makes sure we’re on the road to the playground extra early!

With that in mind, I’m always on the hunt for affordable and easy makeup products that will allow me to pretty myself up without cutting into our outdoors time or take up too much of my grocery money.  It can be a challenge ($40 lipsticks? What’s up with that?), but I assure you those products exist and I’ll be sharing my experiences with you as I attempt to find the perfect multiple-usage products.

With my heavy work, commute, and home schedule, I don’t have a lot of time to shop or even window shop, but every once in a while I take myself on an 30 minute lunch date at my local Sephora, where I escape into wonderful aromas, ooh and aah over the latest colors, and make my hand look like a well-used artist’s palette.

On one recent Sephora date, I stopped by the Stila Cosmetics section (this was way before I found out I won the contest) and found something that I immediately fell in love with and have been using regularly ever since.  It’s their 3-in-1 Convertible Eye Color in the shade Berry.

081

It quickly became a favorite simply because it is compact, does what it’s supposed to do, and the pigments really last, all of which are important to me.  As you can see in the first photo, on one side there is a retractable eyeliner, and on the other, it has a handy little smudger. But wait, there’s more! Beneath that smudger is a clever little sponge tip that’s pre-loaded with eyeshadow replenished from an inner well. HELLO … fabulous.

074s

Three little features  that get your basic eye look done in a flash; just add some mascara and you are not only looking presentable (even though you’re wearing your usual cardigan/sweats/sneakers combo), but you’ve managed to actually apply makeup without your cute and adorable child realizing and then grabbing the product and heading for the toilet. True story.

Stila products are available online, or at your local Sephora and Ulta. This product retails for $22, which is reasonable considering what you’re getting, and if you subscribe to Stila’s enewsletter, or follow them on Twitter, they’ll often send out free shipping notifications, which is never a bad thing.

Photos courtesy of yours truly.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

